Passport

I applied to renew my passport more than 14 weeks ago, as soon as I found out I’d be going to Spain.  The U.S. State Department’s website is still advertising that it takes 10 to 12 weeks for processing.  So as the weeks pass and my mailbox remains empty, I’ve been getting anxious.  On the passport website, I’ve checked the status of my application several times.  “Thank you for submitting your passport application! It is currently being processed,” the site cheerily announces.

The site also advises, “If you are traveling within 2 weeks and have not received your passport, please contact the National Passport Information Center with the above locator number. It will enable them to update you on the status of your application.”

So I called today.  I spent about an hour on hold at various points during the day, but I was eventually connected to a customer service representative.  We spoke for about two minutes, during which time he said, “Alright, your application is being processed.  That’s all I can tell you.”  No estimate of how much longer it might take.  No explanation of why I was told to call the number, if they could only give me the same information as the website.  One redeeming factor: the representative let me know that, if I hadn’t received my passport within three days of my departure date, I could call back.  Thank you, federal government.

Photo credit: gadgetgirl of Flickr.
